28 July 2019

'THRESHOLD' BANYULE AWARD FOR WORKS ON PAPER 2019 • Hatch Contemporary Artspace, VIC

29 Aug⁠—19 Oct 2019 • BANYULE AWARD FOR WORKS ON PAPER 'THRESHOLD' • Hatch Contemporary Artspace, VIC

Rain II. 2019, graphite and rain on paper, 174 x 250 cm   

I'm very excited to share the news that one of my recent 'Rain' compositions has been selected as a finalist in the 2019 Banyule Award for Works on Paper. This years theme is 'Threshold'. It will also be my first time exhibiting in Victoria (this feels very overdue and I look forward to catching up with some of my Melbourne peers!).

ABOUTThe Banyule Award for Works on Paper is awarded biennially to an outstanding contemporary work on paper. It is open to all Australian artists. The award is an acquisitive prize, with the winning artwork entered into the Banyule Art Collection.THEME: THRESHOLD 
The world stands at the threshold of change: for better or worse, it's up to us. The theme for the award this year calls on artists to submit artworks that express, explore, advocate, or address current social, cultural, political or environmental issues.

‘Rain II’ captures the erratic language of one of the planet's most valuable and destructive elements at a point in time where humanity is crossing a threshold of climate and ecological sustainability.

The impact of rainfall is captured by applying a graphite solution on paper during storms. The resulting work embodies the various states of a storm—denoting it’s turbulent nature, its clouds, individual drops and the pooling and tracing of topography as it runs over the land. The grid composition alludes to satellite imagery and mapping—tools used to measure, understand, prepare and predict meteorological phenomena.

In using water and carbon (graphite is crystallised carbon), the work invites dialogue around their cultural, economic and ecological implications amidst a precariously changing climate. 


Julianne Ross Allcorn • Avan Anwar • Rosalind Atkins • Lee Bethel • Wendy Black • Lynne Boyd • Honor Bradbeer • Georgina Campbell • Jazmina Cininas • Carley Cornelissen • Shelley Cowper • Chelle Destefano • Mark Dober • Lesley Duxbury • Liss Fenwick • Robert Fielding • Louise Foletta • David Frazer • Stefan Gevers • Siri Hayes • Anna Hoyle • Alun Rhys Jones • Paul Kalemba • Penelope Le Petit • Tania Mason • Louise Morgan • Harry Nankin • Catherine O’donnell • Chris Orr • Glenda Orr • Alison Robinson • Annika Romeyn • Jo Scicluna • Valerie Sparks • Anne Starling • Cyrus Tang • Mary-jane Walker • Yandell Walton • Paul White • Maria Zeiss

Banyule Award for Works on Paper 2019


Wednesday 28 August 2019, 6-8PM 

Exhibition Duration: 29 Aug—19 Oct 2019
Tue - Sat 10am-4pm

More information & Selected Artists

    Hatch Contemporary Artspace
14 Ivanhoe Parade, Ivanhoe VIC 3079

No comments:

Post a comment